Booker Prize Winners

From TheBookbag
Jump to navigationJump to search

1969 Something To Answer For by P H Newby

1970 The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens

1971 In A Free State by V.S. Naipaul

1972 G by John Berger

1973 The Siege of Krishnapur by J G Farrell

1974 The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer and Holiday by Stanley Middleton

1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1976 Saville by David Storey

1977 Staying On by Paul Scott

1978 The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch

1979 Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1980 Rites of Passage by William Golding

1981 Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie

1982 Schindler's Ark by Thomas Keneally

1983 Life and Times of Michael K by J M Coetzee

1984 Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1985 The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1986 The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1987 Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

1988 Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1989 The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

1990 Possession by A S Byatt

1991 The Famished Road by Ben Okri

1992 The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje and Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth

1993 Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1994 How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman

1995 The Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1996 Last Orders by Graham Swift

1997 The God of Small Thingsby Arundhati Roy

1998 Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1999 Disgrace by J M Coetzee

2000 The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

2001 True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey

2002 Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2003 Vernon God Little by DBC Pierre

2004 The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst

2005 The Sea by John Banville

2006 The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai

2007 The Gathering by Anne Enright

2008 The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga

2009 Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2010 The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson

2011 The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

2012 Bring up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2013 The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

2014 The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

2015 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

2016 The Sellout by Paul Beatty

2017 Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

2018 Milkman by Anna Burns

2019 The Testaments by Margaret Atwood and Girl, Woman, Other by Bernadine Evaristo

2020 Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart

2021 The Promise by Damon Galgut

2022 The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida by Shehan Karunatilaka

2023 Prophet Song by Paul Lynch