Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe

From TheBookbag
Jump to: navigation, search


Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe

0356512223.jpg
Buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com

Category: Science Fiction
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: Alex Mitchell
Reviewed by Alex Mitchell
Summary: Megan E. O'Keefe's debut novel combines space opera, political thrills, rogue AI and criminal dealings with well-realised world and a plot packed with twists and turns that will have you wanting more with every page. A must-read for fans of James S. A. Corey and Alastair Reynolds.
Buy? Yes Borrow? Maybe
Pages: 544 Date: June 2019
Publisher: Orbit
External links: Author's website
ISBN: 978-0356512228

Share on: Delicious Digg Facebook Reddit Stumbleupon Follow us on Twitter



The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship exploding. She expected to be recovered by salvage-medics and to awaken in friendly hands, patched-up and ready to rejoin the fight. Instead she wakes up 230 years later, on a deserted enemy starship called The Light of Berossus - or, as he prefers to call himself, 'Bero'. Bero tells Sanda the war is lost. That the entire star system is dead. But is that the full story? After all, in the vastness of space, anything is possible . . .

I'm quite impressed with the effort that O'Keefe has put into this book, being over 500 pages long, and this being her debut at that. It reminds me a lot of Leviathan Wakes the first book of the Expanse series by James S. A. Corey, in terms of length and content. The author has left several plot threads hanging, presumably to be picked up by later books in the series.

One of the books main strengths is its characterisation – the writing style varies between each viewpoint character, so it gives a good idea of character just from reading. The first plot thread is told from the point of view of Sanda Greeve, a wise-cracking gunnery sergeant in the navy of Ada Prime, who is having to come to terms with the loss of her home, family and leg. Her two companions are Bero, the grumpy and caustic – but at the same time quite child-like – AI in control of the starship The Light of Berossus, and Tomas Cepko, an enemy comms expert and fellow survivor who seems to know more than he's letting on. The snarky banter between the three of them provides the majority of the book's more light-hearted and humorous moments. The plot also follows Sanda's younger brother Biran, a 'keeper' on Ada Prime, as he navigates his way through the schemes and plots of Ada prime's political sphere in a desperate attempt to find his sister. A third plot thread follows Jules Valentine, a hardened criminal from the neighbouring star system of Atrux, who ends up on the run from mysterious and powerful forces after stumbling on a secret laboratory during a botched robbery. Her plot is only tangentially connected to the main two and admittedly could be removed without interfering too much with the main plots.

The world in the book is very well-built. The majority of the action takes place in a single star system, The two main powers in the system are Icarion, a colony three-million strong based on an Earth-like planet, and Ada Prime, a small civilisation based on a Pluto-like dwarf planet around which the system's Casimir gate orbits. The Casimir gates, wormholes in all but name, have enabled humanity to travel between the stars relatively instantaneously. They do have a rather interesting, in that too much stellar flux can prevent a gate from forming, and so they have to be built out at the very edges of the solar system. It's an interesting little detail that adds to the realism of the setting. AI is fairly common in the setting, with every house seeming to have one, although they aren't anywhere near Bero's level of sophistication (something which angers him greatly). All of this is woven seamlessly into the plot and serves well to make the setting feel more alive.

In conclusion, this is a well-written tale of space adventure, underhanded political dealings and AI rights all wrapped up in a fast-paced plot and a well-thought-out world. A must-read for fans of James S. A. Corey and Alastair Reynolds.

Buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon You could get a free audio download of Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe with a 30-day Audible free trial at Amazon.co.uk.


Buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon You can read more book reviews or buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon.co.uk


Buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon You can read more book reviews or buy Velocity Weapon by Megan E O'Keefe at Amazon.com.

Check prices, read reviews or buy from Waterstones

Comments

Like to comment on this review?

Just send us an email and we'll put the best up on the site.